Penne Boscaiola

How about some rich Italian pasta this weekend? This dish is not for those currently on a diet but it’s definitely worth the little sin! I found this recipe in a book called Meals in Minutes (I’m not entirely sure but I think it’s from Australia and it’s pretty old). I’m a pasta lover and I’m always on the lookout for some new creations so I gave this a try and it turned out really rich, hearty and delicious.P1000080

Ingredients:

  • 375g pasta
  • 1tbs olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped finely
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed or chopped
  • 150g bacon strips
  • 150g mushrooms, chopped
  • 300ml cream (I used some more, I always like to have a lot of sauce on my plate)
  • 40g grated cheese

Instructions:

Heat the oil in a pan, then add bacon, onions, garlic and mushrooms. Let it cook while stirring until onions are soft and lightly browned. Meanwhile cook pasta in large pot of boiling salted water until tender, then drain. Add cream to your pan and mix until well combined. Add grated cheese. Season the sauce with salt, pepper to your liking. If you want more sauce add more cream and cheese. Serve pasta on a plate and top with sauce. Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

