Strawberry Orange Jam

So this is my first post on my new blog. It was quite a piece of work to get to this point! I found this recipe for strawberry orange jam in a tiny cooking pamphlet that I bought years and years ago when I was still young.. there’s nothing but strawberry recipes in it and I thought hey, lets try it this summer and I decided to go for a strawberry jam with a little twist to it by adding some orange juice. It was my first try to make jam ever in my whole life and it turned out delicious. It is sweet but not too sugary with a little sour twist from the orange juice. It is super quick to make and the color turns out beautifully like a burning red sunset.P1000076I halved the ingredients and I ended up with 2 and a half jars of jam. That’s enough for me and my little fam, if you have a bigger jam-obsessed family simply double the ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 300g strawberries
  • half a pack citric acid (2-3g)
  • 250g jam sugar
  • 200ml orange juice

Instructions:

Make sure you have the jars you want to use ready and set for the jam. Give them a good rinse with hot water and let them stand upside down till they’re needed. Wash the strawberries and cut off all the green bits. Chop them finely into small pieces and they’re ready to go in your pot. Add the citric acid, the jam sugar and orange juice to the berries and mix. Now bring it to a boil while stirring. Let it boil rapidly over high heat while stirring constantly for 3-4 minutes. Take the pot off the stove and start filling the jam into your prepared jars. Be quick before your jam starts to become thick. Fill the jars and let stand upside down for at least 5 minutes.

P1000075

Leave a Reply

